On One Year Anniversary of Opening for Signature, 8 countries, Australia, Samoa, ratify UN Arms Trade Treaty

3rd June 2014

To mark the one year anniversary of the opening for signature of the UN Arms Trade Treaty, eight additional states ratified the ATT, bringing the total number of ratifications to 40. The treaty will enter into force 90 days after deposit of the 50th ratification.

Representatives from the eight ratifying states gathered at the United Nations in New York. They included two Pacific countries, Australia and Samoa, as well as Belgium, Burkina Faso, Jamaica, Luxembourg, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Learn more about the ATT and the Asia Pacific.

[source: UNODA]